Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Make your own dairy free rice krispie treats that taste amazing! Decorate them for any holiday or make green rice krispie treats for Christmas.
I love rice Krispie treats! They are probably one of my all-time favorite sweet treats.
They are so easy to make and can be decorated in so many ways that they make the perfect quick dessert for any holiday or party. We usually make them for our annual Christmas Eve celebration because both kids and adults love them!
But when my son and I developed an inflammatory disease caused by dairy, store-bought rice Krispie treats were out. As Christmas was approaching, I was determined to make some Christmas rice Krispies that we could eat and that also tasted good.
To my surprise, just substituting one ingredient in the original Krispie treat from the box made delicious dairy free rice Krispie treats.
Do Rice Krispies Treats have dairy?
Yes, rice Krispie treats do have dairy. The original recipe calls for butter and the store-bought ingredients list artificial flavors that contain milk.
Are marshmallows dairy free?
Yes! Marshmallows are dairy free. They are not made of anything healthy, but they taste good and sometimes when you can’t eat most treats because they have butter, a mouthful of marshmallows satisfies the sweet tooth!
Are marshmallows vegan?
Even though marshmallows are dairy-free, they are not vegan. The gelatin in them is derived from some animal collagen.
So this dairy free Rice Krispie treat recipe is dairy free but not vegan.
How to make Rice Krispie treats Dairy-Free
All you need to do is to use a dairy-free butter substitute. It’s easiest to use actual vegan butter sticks as opposed to the buttery spread in a box.
I like Earth Balance vegan buttery sticks. I find them at Sprouts or Whole Foods.
How do you make green rice Krispie treats?
I wanted these holiday Rice Krispie treats to be festive and colorful. At first, I thought of using green marshmallows, but I couldn’t find a bag of green and red marshmallows so I just added some food coloring.
I used a green gel food color and stirred it in the melted marshmallows. If you don’t want them colored, you can definitely skip this step!
Making Rice Krispies into Tree Shapes
I love the versatility of rice krispie treats. Once they are combined, spread them out on a lined baking sheet. Place wax paper over them and flatten them out.
Pull the wax paper off. It will stick some so you might need to let it cool a little or scrape down the rice krispies with a spatula.
Let them cool for a while and then use a cookie cutter to cut out tree shapes. I like the sturdy comfort grip cookie cutters so it doesn’t hurt my hand when I press down.
Once you punch them out, transfer them to a plate and gently push them out through the opening on the top.
Now you can decorate them any way you like! My talents do not lie in piping frosting so I just squeeze a bunch on.
To save time and mess, I even used a Funfutti pre-filled pastry bag I found at Target and Christmas sprinkles.
For some I used the icing and others I sprinkled on the sprinkles and pressed them down a little with my fingers so they stay stuck on.
Easy Peasy and yummy dairy-free Rice Krispie treats for Christmas! Make sure to watch the process video in the card below to watch it all in action.
If you’d like to save these advent ideas for later, simply hover over the top left of the image below and PIN It now!
- 1 bag mini marshmallows
- 6 cups Rice Krispie cereal
- 3 Tablespoons Vegan Earth Balance Buttery Sticks
- Icing and sprinkles for decoration
- Food color gel (optional)
- Melt vegan butter over low heat in a large saucepan.
- Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted.
- Remove from heat and add desired food color gel. Stir.
- Add 6 cups Rice Krispie cereal and stir until well combined.
- Dump rice Krispie batter onto a lined baking sheet with a buttered spatula. Place wax paper over and press down evenly. Let cool.
- Use cookie cutters to cut out desired shapes.
- Decorate with dairy-free icing and sprinkles.
If not dairy-free, use regular butter!